Gluten is a naturally occurring protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats. The type of gluten in oats is quite different to the type of gluten in wheat, rye and barley. Some people with coeliac disease can tolerate oats that are not contaminated by wheat, rye or barley. You should speak to your gastroenterologist about the process of testing your tolerance to contaminant- free oats.
The patient resources are not, and are not intended to be, medical advice, which should be tailored to your individual circumstances. The patient resources are for your information only, and we advise that you exercise your own judgment before deciding to use the information provided. Professional medical advice should be obtained before taking action. Please see here for terms and conditions.